Thursday, April 17, 2008

The Associated Press Recognizes FAMU Broadcast Students for Excellence in Journalism

The Associated Press has announced the winners of the 2008 Florida Associated Press Broadcasters (FAPB) College Awards, which recognizes excellence in television and radio journalism. Eleven broadcast journalism students from the Florida A&M University School of Journalism and Graphic Communication (SJGC) were honored during the FAPB College Convention in Orlando, Fla. SJGC students won 10 awards; an increase from last year’s seven.

“This recognition indicates the high quality of student and faculty talent we have in our school,” said James Hawkins, dean of the School of Journalism and Graphic Communication. “I am extremely proud of all of our winners.”

The first place winners are:

Best Short Light Feature: “Tallahassee Boycott” by Mahalia Bowman and Driadonna Roland

Best Long Light Feature: “A Helping Hand” by Mahalia Bowman and Shakaya Andres

Best Newscast (5 min): “Special Report: FAMU Athletic Department Changes” by John Marsh

Best Newscast (15 min): WANM-FM News by Bryan Brown

Best Long Light Feature (Radio): WANM-FM, “More Sex” by Erica T. Hicks

The second place winners are:

Best TV Newscast: “Live at 5,” Sidney Wright and Maya Franklin

Best Sports: “Football Postseason” by Danon Bell

Best Sports (Radio): WANM-FM, “FAMU Athletics Changes” by Courtney Jones

Best Spot News: WANM-FM, “FAMU Firings” by Guy Lemonier

Best Short Light Feature: WANM-FM, “The Classic” by Courtney Jones

Photo Caption: Bottom Row (L-R) Mahalia Bowman, Shakaya Andres, Driadonna Roland, and Maya Franklin. Top Row (L-R) John Marsh, Guy Lemonier, Keith Miles (Station Manager for WANM-FM 90.5), Bryan Brown, and Sidney Wright.

No comments: