Thursday, April 16, 2009

ROTC Cadet will Join U.S. Senior Military Leaders at National Security Seminar

Joshua Lakey, an Army ROTC cadet from Florida A&M University (FAMU), will join senior United States military leaders at a National Security Seminar.

Lakey, an Atlanta, Ga. native, will travel to Lexington, Va. along with key military officials including Army Chief of Staff Gen. George W. Casey and Secretary of the Army Pete Geren.

Lakey earned the opportunity to participate in the George C. Marshall ROTC Seminar by being selected as the top Army ROTC cadet at FAMU. While in Lexington, Cadet Lakey will have the opportunity to directly interact with the key leaders in attendance and discuss a variety of issues directly bearing on national security.

Lakey is scheduled to be commissioned on August 7, 2009. At that time, he will accept duties as a Combat Arms Armor Lieutenant.

“Cadet Lakey has been a shining example of leadership excellence during his time here,” said Lt. Col. Jeffrey N. Williams, professor of Military Science at FAMU. “In addition to his ROTC activities – where he currently serves as our Cadet Battalion Commander – he is active in the community and has earned academic honors three times.”

Lakey is proud to be chosen to attend such a prestigious seminar.

“I’m deeply honored to be selected from among all of the seniors in the Army ROTC program here at the FAMU Rattler Battalion,” he said. “This is a once in a lifetime opportunity and I’m sure that it will give me insights that I can put to immediate use when I become a lieutenant in a few months.”

About the Marshall ROTC Seminar
The Marshall ROTC Seminar is in its 32nd year of existence. It is named in honor of George C. Marshall – who served as Army Chief of Staff during World War II. Subsequent to concluding his military career, Marshall served as Secretary of State and later as Secretary of Defense during the Truman Administration. His vigorous efforts to help the economies of Europe recover from the ravages of World War II earned him the Nobel Peace Prize in 1953.

No comments: