Wednesday, March 25, 2009

FAMU to Compete in 20th Annual Honda Campus All-Star Challenge

Florida A&M University (FAMU) along with 63 other Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) will participate in the 20th Annual Honda Campus All-Star Challenge (HCASC), March 27-29, in Orlando, Fla. The Honda Campus All-Star Challenge is the only annual academic competition held between the nation’s HBCUs. FAMU is just one of the “Strong 64” participating schools preparing for the three-day tournament that will test their skills in world history, science, literature, religion, the arts, social sciences, popular culture and African-American history.

To date, the FAMU Honda Campus All-Star Challenge team is the only team to have won six national championships and more than $400,000 since the beginning of the tournament.

Since 1989, HCASC has brought together the nation’s best and brightest academic competitors from the America’s top HBCUs. Throughout its 20-year history, HCASC has touched more than 50,000 students and awarded more than $5 million in grants.

In addition to providing students a venue for friendly competition, HCASC encourages relationship building, intellectual excellence and the development values that define good character. Many HCASC alumni have made significant contributions in the fields of science, medicine, aeronautics, education and government.

“The Honda Campus All-Star Challenge was created to spotlight the academic heritage of the nation’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities by showcasing the great minds these institutions produce,” said Marc Burt, senior manager, Office of Inclusion and Diversity, American Honda Motor Company. “Today, 20 years later, we are proud to say that HCASC not only shines a light on the academic excellence of HBCU students, but also serves as a platform for the educational, cultural and personal enrichment of our nation’s youth. As Honda marks 50 years of operations in the U.S, we are honored to be part of this life-enriching event.”

This year’s “Strong 64” will be split into eight divisions and compete in a modified round robin format. The top two teams from each division will advance to the "Sweet 16,” and compete in a single elimination playoff. The final two teams will then compete for the National Championship title.

Colleges and universities from Texas, Louisiana, Georgia, North Carolina, Maryland, Virginia, Alabama, Tennessee, South Carolina, Ohio, Illinois, Mississippi, Kentucky, Missouri, Pennsylvania and New York are slated to participate in this year’s 20th anniversary landmark challenge. In addition to receiving an all-expense paid trip to Orlando, Fla. to compete, each participating institution will receive grant money for their college or university.

For more information on the Honda Campus All Star Challenge and a list of the 64 participating HBCUs, please visit

No comments: